• Facebook Reviews

    Lipstick, Lashes & Locks
    4.8
    powered by Facebook
    Lindsay Ann
    Lindsay Ann
    2018-11-18T18:17:24+0000
    Got my hair and make up done by Jenni. I was over the moon with it, spot on with the look I wanted. Lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere too.
    Elli Natasha Lee
    Elli Natasha Lee
    2018-11-09T22:45:16+0000
    Popped in today in hope that someone could sort out a bodge-job that another hairdresser had done on my fringe. I'm up in Edinburgh visiting so it was lovely to walk in and be made welcome when I had not booked an appointment. I explained what I was after and now my fringe is looking great once again! Thank you so much!
    Lisa Cribbes
    Lisa Cribbes
    2018-11-07T17:57:21+0000
    they are very friendly staff very welcoming and Amy who did my hair was lovely and did an amazing job
    Debbie Sheringham
    Debbie Sheringham
    2018-10-31T13:38:32+0000
    I went in for a pre-gig '60s style bouffant, and wasn't disappointed ❤️ Tina knows her vintage styles, and being a vintage gal myself, I have high standards - and I wasn't disappointed. As well as the friendly service, the decor is to die for! I will be recommending this salon to all of my gal pals, and returning myself very soon 💋
    Joanna Bogdal
    Joanna Bogdal
    2018-08-20T22:02:08+0000
    Given all the positive reviews I must have been really unlucky last week. I am fairly new to the city and have been looking for a good hairdresser for quite a while and was pleased to see so many positive reviews here. I have never dyed my hair before so I have done my research and decided to try sombre to refresh my natural dark blonde hair colour. I emailed the salon, briefly explained what I wanted and came prepared with a couple of pictures to show. Sadly, I realised after a few minutes that the girl who was doing my hair was quite new and after working for just 6 weeks, may have not been experienced enough to do sombre. I got a bit worried when she mentioned "bleach" but again, I have never dyed my hair so was not sure if she needed to bleach my hair when doing sombre/highlights. After 2 hours I noticed that the contrast between my roots and highlights was too visible. The ends were really sort of scandi blonde whereas the roots were dark blonde. It did look absolutely awful, especially that there was no gradual melting of the colour. I spoke to, I believe, Tina who tried to convince me that the colour blended well but really, no offence, it looked a bit like one of the "before" pictures showing hilarious hair dye fails. The girl put some toner on but it didn't really help, the contrast was still there so I just asked to have my hair dyed so that it would match my natural colour. The girl tried her best to fix it and actually stayed for about 3-4 hours after their closed the salon, just to fix the colour and I am really grateful for that. Nobody noticed on Monday that I had my hair dyed which was a relief. Probably I would have even left her a huge tip for trying her best to fix it, but the fact that I was offered a "discount" for having my hair bleached and then fixed to make me look the way I entered the salon 6.5hrs earlier (never mind making me look remotely close to the pictures I showed) kind of put me off. I was more upset because of the fact that nobody supervised the girl when she clearly needed it. And I was unlucky enough to have my hair dyed that day. But again, given all the reviews posted here, I may have been just really unlucky. Either way, I will not go back and probably will think twice before I try to dye my hair again.
    Jill Coleman
    Jill Coleman
    2018-07-29T08:44:17+0000
    Hey ladies thankyou you so so much for sorting out my hair yesterday .. really achieved the look I was aiming for and would have no hesitation recommending you . Cheers!
    Vickie Scruton
    Vickie Scruton
    2018-07-07T16:19:08+0000
    Such an amazing salon and the team are so friendly!! I've had several colour and cuts and I leave so happy with my hair every time. Really looking forward to them taking care of my wedding hair and make up �
    Claire Dobson
    Claire Dobson
    2018-07-05T13:21:43+0000
    Went to the salon for the first time today for a mani-pedi from Dee and I am so happy I did! Not only did I get an amazing service and beautiful nails, I had the best chat with Dee (who is wonderful) and a complimentary tea with a Lotus biscuit on arrival (and if you're a biscuit snob like me, you'll know the supreme quality of a Lotus!) Very happy, thank you! 🙂
    Lorraine Bo
    Lorraine Bo
    2018-06-27T10:29:51+0000
    I've been going to the salon for a wee while now. Tina always does a great job & everyone is really friendly. I'm just waiting for an event to come up in Edinburgh to have an excuse to get my hair styled in the salon. I would definitely recommend!
    Kelly Hatton
    Kelly Hatton
    2018-06-21T18:10:19+0000
    They’re all lovely but Loretta is magical!
    Cara Hunter
    Cara Hunter
    2018-06-16T10:50:57+0000
    A huge thank you to Jenny who helped us get ready for my wedding. It was such a relaxed morning and was like having another friend to get ready with. As someone who doesn’t normally wear much make up she did an amazing job of making me look and feel fantastic. Can’t recommend enough!!
    Harbir Kaur
    Harbir Kaur
    2018-06-06T12:35:03+0000
    Thank you to Jenny for my amazing 50s hair on Saturday 2nd June. I had so many compliments.
    Souraya Morrison
    Souraya Morrison
    2018-04-23T22:43:57+0000
    Kirsty Reid
    Kirsty Reid
    2018-03-30T20:13:01+0000
    Cannot thank the girls at the salon enough for the exceptional job they done for my sisters wedding make up and hair trial. Expectations were met, and then some. Service was so professional and yet so chilled out. They make you feel at home and go beyond the duty of their service. Cannot wait for the wedding now guys! �
    Susan Wilson
    Susan Wilson
    2018-03-29T19:13:36+0000
    We needed to find something for my friends hen do last min due to another event not getting back to us. We were going out with the 1920s in mind. So I looked for vintage stuff in Edinburgh. Found this lovely salon who kindly took us all in and made us looking amazing. We felt so welcome and had such a great laugh getting ready for our night out. Thanks again
    Paula Beaton
    Paula Beaton
    2018-02-05T15:33:17+0000
    Just has a fantastic haircut here. Wasn't too sure what I wanted done but it's absolutely perfect! Lovely chat, cool quirky decor and a great cup of tea in vintage china too. Already rebooked for my next appointment. Thanks for making my hair look so good! �
    Lauren Quinn
    Lauren Quinn
    2018-02-02T23:08:57+0000
    Everyone is so friendly and Loretta done an absolutely amazing transformation to my hair. From blonde to icey blue with blues and greens going through the ends, I'm in LOVE! Will definitely be coming back for more!
    Andrea MacGregor
    Andrea MacGregor
    2018-02-02T18:38:28+0000
    I really enjoyed visiting your wonderful salon today � The staff were so friendly to me and very helpful. I will definitely be visiting again ���
    Lucy Jayne Asbridge
    Lucy Jayne Asbridge
    2018-01-20T11:04:45+0000
    Angie Stheno
    Angie Stheno
    2017-12-28T15:44:44+0000
    Amazing persons working here! Not afraid of hair color challenges and very beautiful personnalities . Worth the money you will spend there, definitely! Thanks again, i'm sooooo happy, you rocked it!
    Despiny Nik
    Despiny Nik
    2017-12-20T22:54:33+0000
    Amy Louise Wilson
    Amy Louise Wilson
    2017-10-29T10:24:26+0000
    You lovies are amazing!... Jenny where do i start (hugs and applause?)... you created a masterpeice on my bridal hair and make up. Only had to top up my lippy once and that was after dinner . At no point did i ever feel rushed in the morning and you made everything feel so calm.You are incredibly talented and i cant wait for my next excuse to come in for a 'do-up'. My flower girl was so proud of her princess curls. X x The day before the wedding my mam and I came to the salon for our nails and a blow dry... it was a delight to have been made such a fuss of. Such a warm welcome and down to earth approach. We were made to feel right at home. Thank you so much for making it feel so easy.
    Carol Turnbull
    Carol Turnbull
    2017-09-23T20:17:08+0000
    Lisa Pavlovna
    Lisa Pavlovna
    2017-09-20T18:56:09+0000
    Loved,loved, loved everything. The hairdresser was very lovely and gave me a few tips on how to style my hair. Very nice salon, love my new haircut x
    Aimée Johnstone
    Aimée Johnstone
    2017-08-10T20:10:34+0000

 

Would you like a new haircut or colour? How about a makeover or a visit to our lash & brow bar?  Simply call us on 0131 2811942 or book online

Looking for a Gift? Book a pampering session in the salon for your favourite person with one of our Salon Gift Vouchers!

Simply call us on 0131 2811942

Would you like to learn how to do your own hair and make up like a pro? Book a place at our Beauty School! Click the button below to find out info on our upcoming hair and make up workshops
Opening Hours
Monday:
10:00 – 18:00,
Tuesday:
10:00 – 18:00,
Wednesday:
10:00 – 18:00,
Thursday:
10:00 – 18:00,
Friday:
10:00 – 18:00,
Saturday:
10:00 – 18:00,
Sunday: Closed
  • Google Reviews

    Paula B
    Paula B
    12:31 07 Feb 18
    Booked a haircut here firstly for the quirky retro decor. The salon is amazing and everybody so friendly. Wasn't too sure what I wanted done as it was my first haircut in a year - and always a bit scary trying somewhere new! Loretta put me instantly at ease and seemed to know what I wanted even though I wasn't sure myself! I've ended up with a gorgeous style I love and am completely chuffed to bits with. Really relaxing atmosphere, great chat with the girls and a lovely cup of tea to boot. Already booked my next appointment and looking forward to it. ????????????????????
    Aileen Lightbody
    Aileen Lightbody
    07:22 18 Dec 17
    I've been going here for a few years now. All I've ever had is a wet cut, usually when I've let my grow so out of shape it's a mess! Tina though makes an excellent job of restoring it. In fact it's one of the best haircuts I've ever had. Very reasonable prices. Comfortable friendly salon. Would definitely recommend.
    Danuta Orlowska
    Danuta Orlowska
    17:39 02 Feb 18
    Super friendly quirky salon - very happy to have found Tina and her team. Vintage hair styles are her speciality and I have enjoyed every visit to this small salon which has a huge heart. Totally recommended. The orange 1960s typewriter is a great piece of wall art! Can I give 6 stars please?
    Camille Zimmerman
    Camille Zimmerman
    13:33 21 Apr 18
    Always come out of this salon feeling 100 times better. Lovely personal service that is different from your average salon
    H Engleman
    H Engleman
    20:49 21 Mar 18
    Make-up tutorial from Kirsty was warm, personal, professional, educational and practical at once. Learnt more in 2 hrs than from 4 decades of magazine articles, inc choosing make-up colours and products to suit my complexion, application techniques, and how to emphasise my best features while minimising my lesser-favoured ones. Astounding and a little emotional to see my younger-day features returning to life, without a trace of a mask-like appearance and not a hint of product-selling. Can't thank Kirsty enough for her skills and teaching expertise, and can't wait to try out what she's taught me.
    See All Reviews

0131 281 1942

Mon - Sat 10am until 6pm

63 Causewayside, Edinburgh, EH9 1QF

girl putting lipstick on        

©2018 Lipstick Lashes and Locks, Edinburgh BB